The Reason

Well, ain’t this something? Two weeks before the exams and I’m posting something here!

I decided to take a break from all the studying and cramming through practice questions and checked out Youtube for a while. For reasons I can’t recall, I stumbled across the Kanye West-Taylor Swift incident. If you are a Kanye West or a Taylor Swift fan, or perhaps any other fan who happen to know either of them, or watch awards shows, or… well, you get the point. Anyway, what was I saying? Oh yes. So this incident. For those of you music-event-uninformeds (me being one of them – never bothered with awards anyway. I like what I like. Sometimes what I like is not something most others would. Take for instance, Lady Gaga. But that’s another story for another day), you can check out this vid.

 

 

This is three years late, but yeah there have basically been two schools of thought. Or three, actually. No. Two. Yup. Two. Yes, so… one is that Kanye is an absolute, *in the spirit of Taylor*, beep. The other is saying, yes what he did wasn’t the most pleasant thing in the world, but he has decided to apologize, let’s move on. The third school of thought (sorry I’m a math student, I can’t count!), is that this doesn’t concern me, so I don’t care. Fair enough. The debate between these three groups could go on forever, but me, it reminded me actually of something fortuna_major posted, well… not really sure when, but she did post something about this incident.

She closed down her blog something like a year ago, but I typed in the URL anyway, hoping she’d reopened it again for some reason but didn’t tell me, not that she would have been obligated to, anyway. Unsurprisingly, it’s gone. So it got me thinking, the reason she closed down her blog was because she saw no real reason to type long stuff out anymore. Twitter won, she said. Then my mind shifted to this guy jrobichess, a Youtube user, who blogged and vlogged about Chess and his supposed “journey” in it. Eventually he stopped posting like, a year ago. There hasn’t been anything new since. It wasn’t that he was not active on Youtube, I’m subscribed to him and know that he’s still there, liking stuff, not chess related and all. I guess for him, it got to a point where he either was just too busy with work that he stopped posting stuff, or that he just couldn’t be bothered anymore, or that he just gave up chess altogether, which is a pity, well, at least to me! Heh.

The point is, at some point in their lives everyone has something to say. We find ways to channel our thoughts, feelings, expressions. That’s why things like blogs, Youtube and status updates on Facebook are doing so well. Of course, one could do it in songs and poems and plays, but not everyone is poetic and creative enough. But then there comes a time where people stop talking, or writing, for various reasons. Some people think it doesn’t really matter anymore, while some still have something to say, but they’re too lazy to put it down in writing, or video, or whatever form they were using. I’m subscribed also to kingscrusher, who is another Youtube user who posts things related to chess. Btw, if you’re an avid chess player, you should check out his videos – there’s a lot of amazing stuff you can learn from him. Anyway, he’s someone who posts almost everyday, and still going strong. You may wonder, what does this guy do? Doesn’t he need to work? He’s not even like, a world class chess player or something. Don’t get me wrong, he is a decent chess player, but he’s not a pro, i.e. he doesn’t get paid for playing, but research on him a little bit more, and you find that he is actually a computer guy, and part of his job is to maintain the chessworld.net website. Hence you could say that it WAS part of his job to maintain his youtube channel. So yes, here is someone who continues to maintains his channel of expression because it was actually his job.

It’s not always the case, however. Chippers is not a journalist. She’s well, a musician? Alright, she’s currently a university student, but she still maintains a blog which she updates on a regular basis. Question is, why does she keep posting then? You’d think after a few years of writing, one would eventually get tired, or at least take a break, but no, she just keeps posting! Clearly there’s more to this than just it being a job! What is it??? Argh, I just can’t figure it out!!

So then, for me, what is my reason for keeping this blog? Why do I keep writing stuff I write? I find that the posts I wrote when I first started this blog is a lot more meaningful and natural than what I write now. It seems very rushed, too superficial, and for some reason my brain juices just can’t flow anymore. Every time I get the urge to write something, I can’t, because I’m too busy doing something else. There’s always a project I need to rush, or an assignment due soon, or in this context, exams coming up! I guess then you could say that if you’re waiting for the “right time” to post, there will never be one. So yes, I won’t shut this blog down. Ever. So that anytime I have something to say, I will. Whether it’s math, or football, or F1, or chess, or about religion, or about how cute the squirrel look when it was gnawing on a nut.

Ok, now come to think of it, this post has been rather pointless so far. So I posted about posting, and not shutting down this blog. Whaaaaaaaaaaaat?

So to make sure this post is point-ful, here’s a cool teaser trailer of one of MY most anticipated movies of 2013!!

 

 

…and this awesome ‘knock knock’ joke I learned recently!

 

 

Till then, FALCON, OUT~

  1. Douglas Yeo
    April 7, 2012 at 4:17 PM

    Hi, regarding the chess player jrobi,
    I have also been tracking him on FICS (an internet chess server). He hasn’t been playing for over a year, which is a pity, given that he seemed very enthusiastic about chess.

    It is sad how sometimes passion can easily fizzle out and become disillusionment or apathy.

    Best regards.
    ////
    Finger of jrobi:

    Last disconnected: Sat Jan 29, 09:30 PST 2011

    rating RD win loss draw total best
    Blitz 1178 172.4 959 1772 140 2871 1299 (08-May-2009)
    Standard 1724 239.9 298 449 32 779 1568 (03-Jul-2008)

  2. April 8, 2012 at 6:24 AM

    Ha. That is interesting. Thanks for the comment!

  3. Douglas Yeo
    April 15, 2012 at 11:05 PM

    Hi, recently I found that jrobi is still playing chess!

    It is nice to know that he still has passion in chess, at least as of March 2012.

    http://jrobichess.blogspot.com/

    Sunday, March 11, 2012
    Getting Inspired Again
    Well it’s been awhile since I have made some chess videos. Namely, things have been super busy with work and the kids, and after my computer blew up awhile back and I put one together, I was missing some of the software that I liked to use. I am working towards getting some of that back, and will be posting videos again soon.

    Throughout my break I still played chess, mostly 5 minute blitz. My study time was negligible due to the busy nature of life, but I played daily as much as I could – blitz anyway. Very rarely did I play longer time control limits.

    The new videos will comprise of a series that I always wanted to do on a personal level, and after that is complete I will resume study and continue with the other series that I have going.

    Yours in chess,
    jrobichess

  4. April 16, 2012 at 6:53 AM

    Ah. Good to hear! Thanks for that!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

